Study analysis · Veterinary journal · 2007

Your dog's arthritis supplement might actually work—but only if you wait 70 days, and the study behind it didn't even include a placebo group.

Dogs with arthritis given a glucosamine/chondroitin supplement got significantly better after 70 days, but the improvement appeared much later than with a standard painkiller, and the study didn't use a dummy pill to prove the effect was real.

Reading level
Very low certainty
Level 1b · Individual RCTAssociation, not causationNo causal claims

Overview

What the study found

The study in plain English — the bottom line, every takeaway we extracted, and what to do with them.

In simple terms

Think of a study where sick dogs got a supplement and other sick dogs got a known pain medicine. Both groups got better, but there was no group that got nothing. So maybe the dogs would have gotten better anyway, and we can't be sure the supplement actually did anything. It's like taking two kinds of candy and feeling happier, but not checking if a kid who got no candy also felt happier.

What’s the bottom line?

Dogs with arthritis were given either a supplement called glucosamine/chondroitin or a standard pain medicine (carprofen). Vets checked the dogs at different times to see if they were in less pain and walking better.

How strong is this study?

The study was done pretty carefully—dogs were randomly put into two groups, and the doctors didn't know which dog got which treatment. That helps prevent cheating or bias. But there were not very many dogs, and the improvement was judged just by looking, not with a machine. Also, because there wasn't a fake treatment group, we can't be 100% sure the supplement is what made the dogs better.

Reporting

0 / 100

  • COI disclosureconflicts of interest not disclosed
  • Data availabilitydata not shared
  • Code availabilitycode not shared
Methodology

79 / 100

  • Randomization+20/20
  • Blinding+15/15
  • Control group+15/15
  • Sample size (n=35)+3.2/20
  • Follow-up+10/10
Publication

100 / 100

Statistical

23 / 100

  • P-values+15/15
  • Effect sizeno effect size reported
  • Confidence intervalsno confidence intervals
  • Pre-registrationnot pre-registered

Each component is scored out of 100 and then capped by the study design — a case series cannot reach the ceiling a randomised trial can, however well it is reported.

Where it sits

RCT reviews

Max 100

Randomized Trials

Max 90

Reviews of Cohort Studies

Max 85

Cohort Studies

Max 72

Reviews of Case-Control Studies

Max 63

Case-Control Studies

Max 58

Cross-Sectional & Case Series

Max 50

Expert Opinion

Max 5
StrongerWeaker
Randomized Trials
Level 1b
16

16 / 100

Probability of being correct

Participants are randomly assigned to treatment or control groups, minimizing bias. The gold standard for testing whether an intervention causes an effect.

This design cannot establish causation — the findings describe an association, not a cause. Although this is an RCT, it uses a positive control (carprofen) rather than a placebo. Without a placebo/no-treatment group, the observed improvements in dogs receiving glucosamine/chondroitin sulfate cannot be causally attributed to the treatment, as they might be due to natural disease progression, regression to the mean, or placebo effects. The design can only compare the supplement to an active drug, and no statistical between-group differences were reported.

Major COI

Major conflicts that significantly reduce study credibility

Not Disclosed

The study was funded by VetPlus Ltd., a company that likely manufactures the glucosamine/chondroitin product being tested. Although no explicit conflict of interest section is present, the funding constitutes a major conflict as the funder has a commercial interest in the outcome.

Industry Funded
Funder Involved
Undisclosed — Suspicious

Funders

VetPlus Ltd.

Conflict Details

All authors
Funding

VetPlus Ltd.: Received financial support for the study

James O'Donovan
Funding

BSAVA Petsavers: Funding for residency

Independent Analysis Safeguards

  • Randomized double-blind design
  • Positive-controlled trial
  • Multi-centre trial
  • Ethics committee approval and licensing

Funding from VetPlus Ltd., a company that likely manufactures the test product, presents a major conflict of interest. No conflict of interest declaration is visible in the provided sections. BSAVA Petsavers also funded an author's residency but without apparent industry connection. The study uses positive control (carprofen) and subjective outcome measures.

Key takeaways

  1. 01

    After 70 days, dogs on the supplement were doing significantly better (P<0.001) in pain, weight-bearing, and overall condition.

  2. 02

    Improvement was slower than with carprofen (day 70 vs day 42).

  3. 03

    Two dogs on the supplement had side effects and were taken out of the study.

  4. 04

    The supplement appears to help dogs with arthritis, but it takes longer to work than a standard NSAID.

  5. 05

    Since there was no dummy pill group, we cannot be 100% sure the improvement was not partly due to natural changes or owner expectations.

Surprising findings

  • Dogs on the supplement improved significantly by day 70 even without a placebo group, but the benefit took 28 days longer to appear than in dogs on carprofen.Many people assume nutraceuticals either work quickly or not at all. Here, the supplement produced measurable improvements, just slowly.
  • Two adverse drug reactions occurred in the glucosamine/chondroitin group—not in the NSAID group, which is usually considered the riskier treatment.NSAIDs are often blamed for side effects, while supplements are assumed safe. This study reminds us that 'natural' doesn't always mean harmless.
  • Despite having no placebo control, the study still found statistically significant improvements across three independent outcome measures (pain, weight-bearing, severity).A positive-controlled design makes a causal claim weaker, yet the consistent improvements suggest a real effect—though not definitive.

Practical takeaways

If you try a glucosamine/chondroitin supplement for your dog's arthritis, commit to at least 70 days (10 weeks) before judging whether it works, since benefits were not significant before that point.

The study had no placebo control, so the improvement might not be caused by the supplement. Always work with your veterinarian.

medium confidence

For quicker relief in an arthritic dog, consider a veterinary-prescribed NSAID like carprofen—it showed significant improvement by day 42, much faster than the supplement.

NSAIDs have their own risk of side effects, including gastrointestinal issues. Use under veterinary supervision.

medium confidence

Ask your veterinarian whether objective assessments like force plate gait analysis are available, as subjective evaluations can be biased and harder to interpret.

Force plate analysis is not widely available in general practice and may not be feasible for every dog.

medium confidence

Watch for side effects when starting any joint supplement: in this study, 2 out of 42 dogs (about 5%) were withdrawn due to adverse drug reactions in the Glu/CS group.

The exact side effects were not described in the abstract, and the sample size was small, so the true rate is uncertain.

low confidence

Why this study matters

The Good News: Supplement Improved Pain and Mobility

In a randomized, double-blind, positive-controlled trial, 35 dogs with hip or elbow osteoarthritis were treated with oral glucosamine hydrochloride and chondroitin sulfate (Glu/CS) or the NSAID carprofen. By day 70, dogs on the supplement showed statistically significant improvements in veterinarian-rated pain, weight-bearing, and overall severity scores (P<0.001).

Pet owners are desperate for drug-free ways to ease their dog's arthritis pain, and this study offers hope—though with important caveats.

The Elephant in the Room: No Placebo Group

The trial used carprofen as a 'positive control' rather than a placebo, meaning all dogs received an active treatment. Without a dummy-pill group, improvements in the supplement group could be partly due to natural disease fluctuation, owner expectations, or veterinarian bias.

This is the flaw that prevents us from confidently saying 'glucosamine works'—yet supplement companies often cite this study without mentioning it.

Wait 70 Days—Not 14 or 42

Significant improvement in the Glu/CS group first appeared on day 70, whereas carprofen showed significant benefit by day 42. The authors explicitly recommend that future trials monitor dogs for a minimum of 70 days because earlier endpoints can miss the effect.

Most owners stop giving joint supplements after a few weeks if they don't see results. This study shows the benefit may take 10 weeks to emerge.

Side Effects? Yes, Two Dogs Were Withdrawn

Out of 42 dogs enrolled, two dogs in the Glu/CS group were withdrawn due to adverse drug reactions. Another dog in that group required surgery, and one was given an NSAID between day 70 and 98. The supplement is not automatically risk-free.

Supplements are often seen as harmless, but this study shows they can cause side effects in some dogs—something owners should discuss with their vet.

Want the whole report?

Detailed mode opens the full scientific breakdown — every score component, the methodology, conflicts of interest, the evidence analysis behind each claim, and the raw study data.