Study analysis · Topics in companion animal medicine · 2017
Your dog's joint supplement may work no better than a prescription painkiller—and neither one reliably helps most arthritic dogs.
In a small study of working dogs with hip arthritis, neither a joint supplement nor an anti-inflammatory drug reduced pain on average, but some individual dogs improved.
Overview
What the study found
The study in plain English — the bottom line, every takeaway we extracted, and what to do with them.
In simple terms
Think of this like trying two different treats on two groups of dogs to see which makes them happier, but you let someone pick which dogs get which treat. Some dogs in both groups seemed a little happier, but we can't be sure the treat did it—maybe they just had a good day. So it gives us a hint, but not solid proof.
What’s the bottom line?
Scientists tested a supplement for dogs with sore hips. They gave some dogs the supplement and others a pain drug, then asked owners how their dogs were doing. Neither treatment made the whole group better on average, but a few individual dogs did improve.
How strong is this study?
This study is like a science project with only 15 dogs, and we don't know if the people telling us about the dogs' pain knew which group they were in. With so few dogs and possible hidden biases, the results are not very reliable. It's like trying to guess the best flavor of ice cream by tasting only one tiny spoonful—you can't be sure.
0 / 100
- COI disclosureconflicts of interest not disclosed
- Data availabilitydata not shared
- Code availabilitycode not shared
33 / 100
- Randomizationrandomization unclear
- Blindingblinding unclear
- Control group+15/15
- Sample size (n=15)+1.4/20
- Follow-up+10/10
100 / 100
0 / 100
- P-valuesno p-values reported
- Effect sizeno effect size reported
- Confidence intervalsno confidence intervals
- Pre-registrationnot pre-registered
Each component is scored out of 100 and then capped by the study design — a case series cannot reach the ceiling a randomised trial can, however well it is reported.
Where it sits
RCT reviewsReviews of RCTs (Meta-analyses)
Max 100Randomized TrialsRandomized Trials
Max 90Reviews of Cohort StudiesReviews of Cohort Studies
Max 85Cohort StudiesCohort Studies
Max 72Reviews of Case-Control StudiesReviews of Case-Control Studies
Max 63Case-Control StudiesCase-Control Studies
Max 58Cross-Sectional & Case SeriesCross-Sectional & Case Series
Max 50Expert OpinionExpert Opinion
Max 59 / 100
Probability of being correct
Groups of people are followed over time to see who develops an outcome. Strong for identifying risk factors and associations, but cannot prove causation as firmly as RCTs.
This design cannot establish causation — the findings describe an association, not a cause. This is a non-randomized cohort study. Without randomization, there is high risk of confounding and selection bias, making it impossible to establish a causal relationship between the treatments and outcomes. Any observed differences could be due to baseline differences or other factors. Additionally, lack of blinding (or unknown blinding) could introduce bias in outcome measurement.
No Conflicts
No conflicts of interest identified
No conflicts of interest or funding disclosures appear in the provided text. The study appears to be independently conducted.
The provided text is an excerpt; the full article may contain a conflict of interest or funding statement. The study compares a commercial joint supplement to carprofen, but the manufacturer is not identified.
Key takeaways
- 01
Out of 15 dogs, 10 got supplement and 5 got pain drug.
- 02
No big difference between groups.
- 03
About 3 out of 10 supplement dogs and 1 out of 4 carprofen dogs clearly improved.
- 04
Many dogs had some improvement on a simple pain scale.
- 05
This is not strong evidence that the supplement works, because the study was very small and no overall benefit was found.
- 06
It only hints that some dogs might feel better with either treatment.
Surprising findings
- The joint supplement performed no better than carprofen, a standard NSAID, on the primary owner-assessed pain measure—and neither treatment produced significant within-group improvements from baseline.People expect a prescription painkiller to be more effective than a nutraceutical, but in this small study, the supplement held its own (both failed to show group-level benefits). It's also surprising that carprofen didn't significantly reduce pain, given it's a common first-line treatment.
- A majority of dogs in both groups showed some improvement on the Hudson visual analog scale (HVAS): 40-50% for supplement, 60-80% for carprofen, even though the more validated CBPI didn't show significant group differences.This discrepancy between two pain measurement tools suggests that owner perception can vary widely depending on how the question is asked. A simple scale may be more sensitive to small changes, but it also shows that 'improvement' is subjective.
Practical takeaways
If your dog has hip osteoarthritis, don't rely solely on a joint supplement or a single NSAID—monitor their response closely and consider combining treatments (e.g., weight management, physical therapy, or other medications) for better pain control.
This study was small and used working dogs, so results may not apply to all pets. Always consult your veterinarian before changing treatments.
Medium confidenceUse validated owner questionnaires (like the Canine Brief Pain Inventory) at home to track your dog's pain over time. A simple visual analogue scale from 0-10 can also help spot subtle improvements.
Owner assessments are subjective; a good response on one scale but not another (as seen in this study) means you should use multiple measures and consult your vet.
Medium confidenceWhen considering supplements, choose products with clear ingredients and quality control, but be realistic: only 30% of dogs in this study showed a meaningful CBPI response. Give it a fair trial of 4-6 weeks and look for measurable changes.
The supplement in this study was given for only 40 days, and the follow-up was 5 months. Long-term effects or optimal durations are unknown.
Low confidenceWhy this study matters
No Overall Winner: Supplement vs. Painkiller
The study compared a 40-day course of an oral joint supplement (glucosamine HCl, chondroitin sulphate, hyaluronic acid) to a 70-day course of carprofen in 15 police working dogs with hip osteoarthritis. At every time point over 5 months, there were no significant differences between groups on the Canine Brief Pain Inventory (CBPI) pain severity or interference scores.
Many pet owners assume joint supplements are harmless but weak, while NSAIDs like carprofen are strong. This study suggests that, at least in this small sample, the supplement worked just as well (or just as poorly) as the drug.
A 30% Success Rate—What Does 'Success' Really Mean?
Using the CBPI, only 3 out of 10 dogs (30%) on the supplement and 1 out of 4 completing dogs (25%) on carprofen achieved a clinically meaningful improvement. On the simpler Hudson visual analog scale (HVAS), 40–50% of supplement dogs and 60–80% of carprofen dogs showed some improvement.
These numbers show that individual dogs can respond well, but the majority don't. It highlights the importance of personalized treatment and managing expectations.
Neither Treatment Alone Is Enough for Working Dogs
The authors concluded that 'the oral joint supplement and carprofen produced some improvements in individual scores but were unable to do so when overall results were considered. Each of these options may not be able, by itself, to fully address the demands of a working dog with joint disease and related pain.' This suggests that working dogs with osteoarthritis may need multimodal therapy.
Working dogs like police K9s have higher physical demands than typical pets, so a single supplement or NSAID may not cut it. Owners and veterinarians may need to combine treatments, physical therapy, or weight management.
This Study Has Major Limitations—Don't Overinterpret
The study included only 15 dogs (10 supplement, 5 carprofen), had no randomization or blinding, and relied on owner-assessed subjective outcomes. No p-values or effect sizes were reported, making it hard to draw firm conclusions.
While the findings are intriguing, they're far from definitive. Many online sources might tout this as 'proof' that supplements don't work or that carprofen is no better, but the study's quality is low to moderate.
Want the whole report?
Detailed mode opens the full scientific breakdown — every score component, the methodology, conflicts of interest, the evidence analysis behind each claim, and the raw study data.
Overview
What the study found
The study in plain English — the bottom line, every takeaway we extracted, and what to do with them.
Not medical advice. For informational purposes only. Always consult a healthcare professional. Terms
Scientists tested a supplement for dogs with sore hips. They gave some dogs the supplement and others a pain drug, then asked owners how their dogs were doing. Neither treatment made the whole group better on average, but a few individual dogs did improve.
Research results
Out of 15 dogs, 10 got supplement and 5 got pain drug. No big difference between groups. About 3 out of 10 supplement dogs and 1 out of 4 carprofen dogs clearly improved. Many dogs had some improvement on a simple pain scale.
What this means - more context
This is not strong evidence that the supplement works, because the study was very small and no overall benefit was found. It only hints that some dogs might feel better with either treatment.
To compare the effectiveness of an oral joint supplement (glucosamine HCl, chondroitin sulphate, hyaluronic acid) against carprofen for managing hip osteoarthritis in working dogs.
In 15 working dogs with hip osteoarthritis, a 40-day course of oral joint supplement was compared to a 70-day carprofen course. No statistically significant group differences were found on the Canine Brief Pain Inventory (pain severity or interference) at any time point over 5 months. A minority of dogs (30% supplement, 25% carprofen) achieved clinically meaningful improvement, while Hudson visual analog scale improvements occurred in 40-80% of individuals. The authors conclude neither treatment alone fully manages pain in working dogs.
Methods Used
Prospective interventional study; 15 working dogs (police dogs) with hip osteoarthritis were assigned to treatment group (n=10) receiving oral joint supplement for 40 days plus placebo, or control group (n=5) receiving carprofen for 70 days plus placebo. Owner-assessed outcomes (CBPI and HVAS) were measured at baseline and up to 5 months (T0-T6).
Main Finding
No significant group-level differences in CBPI pain severity or pain interference between supplement and carprofen at any time point; both lacked significant within-group improvements from baseline. Individual success rates were 30% (3/10) for supplement and 25% (1/4) for carprofen completers on CBPI, with HVAS improvements in 40-80% of dogs across groups.
Confidence Level
Low to moderate: small sample size, no randomization or blinding described, subjective owner-assessed outcomes, and no reported effect sizes or p-values for group comparisons.
Study Flags
Red Flags
- •Very small sample size (n=15; control n=5)
- •No randomization or blinding described
- •Owner-assessed subjective outcomes; no objective measures like force plate
Surprising Findings
The joint supplement performed no better than carprofen, a standard NSAID, on the primary owner-assessed pain measure—and neither treatment produced significant within-group improvements from baseline.
People expect a prescription painkiller to be more effective than a nutraceutical, but in this small study, the supplement held its own (both failed to show group-level benefits). It's also surprising that carprofen didn't significantly reduce pain, given it's a common first-line treatment.
Practical Takeaways
If your dog has hip osteoarthritis, don't rely solely on a joint supplement or a single NSAID—monitor their response closely and consider combining treatments (e.g., weight management, physical therapy, or other medications) for better pain control.
RCT reviewsReviews of RCTs (Meta-analyses)
Max 100Randomized TrialsRandomized Trials
Max 90Reviews of Cohort StudiesReviews of Cohort Studies
Max 85Cohort StudiesCohort Studies
Max 72Reviews of Case-Control StudiesReviews of Case-Control Studies
Max 63Case-Control StudiesCase-Control Studies
Max 58Cross-Sectional & Case SeriesCross-Sectional & Case Series
Max 50Expert OpinionExpert Opinion
Max 59 / 100
Probability of being correct
Groups of people are followed over time to see who develops an outcome. Strong for identifying risk factors and associations, but cannot prove causation as firmly as RCTs.
Animal Cohort Study
Subject
Lower probability
on the GRADE evidence scale
Think of this like trying two different treats on two groups of dogs to see which makes them happier, but you let someone pick which dogs get which treat. Some dogs in both groups seemed a little happier, but we can't be sure the treat did it—maybe they just had a good day. So it gives us a hint, but not solid proof.
The study has a COI section but no disclosure was found. A small penalty has been applied.
Strengths
- Prospective design with multiple follow-up time points.
- Included a positive control group (carprofen) for comparison.
- Used validated owner-completed questionnaires (CBPI and HVAS).
Weaknesses
- Non-randomized: allocation to treatment and control likely not random, leading to potential selection bias.
- Blinding unknown: placebo was used but it is unclear if caregivers or assessors were blinded, risking performance and detection bias.
- Small sample size (especially control group n=5) reduces statistical power and precision.
Methodology
Evidence Keywords
Statistical Reporting
Not medical advice. For informational purposes only. Always consult a healthcare professional. Terms
Scientists tested a supplement for dogs with sore hips. They gave some dogs the supplement and others a pain drug, then asked owners how their dogs were doing. Neither treatment made the whole group better on average, but a few individual dogs did improve.
Research results
Out of 15 dogs, 10 got supplement and 5 got pain drug. No big difference between groups. About 3 out of 10 supplement dogs and 1 out of 4 carprofen dogs clearly improved. Many dogs had some improvement on a simple pain scale.
What this means - more context
This is not strong evidence that the supplement works, because the study was very small and no overall benefit was found. It only hints that some dogs might feel better with either treatment.
To compare the effectiveness of an oral joint supplement (glucosamine HCl, chondroitin sulphate, hyaluronic acid) against carprofen for managing hip osteoarthritis in working dogs.
In 15 working dogs with hip osteoarthritis, a 40-day course of oral joint supplement was compared to a 70-day carprofen course. No statistically significant group differences were found on the Canine Brief Pain Inventory (pain severity or interference) at any time point over 5 months. A minority of dogs (30% supplement, 25% carprofen) achieved clinically meaningful improvement, while Hudson visual analog scale improvements occurred in 40-80% of individuals. The authors conclude neither treatment alone fully manages pain in working dogs.
Methods Used
Prospective interventional study; 15 working dogs (police dogs) with hip osteoarthritis were assigned to treatment group (n=10) receiving oral joint supplement for 40 days plus placebo, or control group (n=5) receiving carprofen for 70 days plus placebo. Owner-assessed outcomes (CBPI and HVAS) were measured at baseline and up to 5 months (T0-T6).
Main Finding
No significant group-level differences in CBPI pain severity or pain interference between supplement and carprofen at any time point; both lacked significant within-group improvements from baseline. Individual success rates were 30% (3/10) for supplement and 25% (1/4) for carprofen completers on CBPI, with HVAS improvements in 40-80% of dogs across groups.
Confidence Level
Low to moderate: small sample size, no randomization or blinding described, subjective owner-assessed outcomes, and no reported effect sizes or p-values for group comparisons.
Study Flags
Red Flags
- •Very small sample size (n=15; control n=5)
- •No randomization or blinding described
- •Owner-assessed subjective outcomes; no objective measures like force plate
Surprising Findings
The joint supplement performed no better than carprofen, a standard NSAID, on the primary owner-assessed pain measure—and neither treatment produced significant within-group improvements from baseline.
People expect a prescription painkiller to be more effective than a nutraceutical, but in this small study, the supplement held its own (both failed to show group-level benefits). It's also surprising that carprofen didn't significantly reduce pain, given it's a common first-line treatment.
Practical Takeaways
If your dog has hip osteoarthritis, don't rely solely on a joint supplement or a single NSAID—monitor their response closely and consider combining treatments (e.g., weight management, physical therapy, or other medications) for better pain control.
RCT reviewsReviews of RCTs (Meta-analyses)
Max 100Randomized TrialsRandomized Trials
Max 90Reviews of Cohort StudiesReviews of Cohort Studies
Max 85Cohort StudiesCohort Studies
Max 72Reviews of Case-Control StudiesReviews of Case-Control Studies
Max 63Case-Control StudiesCase-Control Studies
Max 58Cross-Sectional & Case SeriesCross-Sectional & Case Series
Max 50Expert OpinionExpert Opinion
Max 59 / 100
Probability of being correct
Groups of people are followed over time to see who develops an outcome. Strong for identifying risk factors and associations, but cannot prove causation as firmly as RCTs.
Animal Cohort Study
Subject
Lower probability
on the GRADE evidence scale
Think of this like trying two different treats on two groups of dogs to see which makes them happier, but you let someone pick which dogs get which treat. Some dogs in both groups seemed a little happier, but we can't be sure the treat did it—maybe they just had a good day. So it gives us a hint, but not solid proof.
The study has a COI section but no disclosure was found. A small penalty has been applied.
Strengths
- Prospective design with multiple follow-up time points.
- Included a positive control group (carprofen) for comparison.
- Used validated owner-completed questionnaires (CBPI and HVAS).
Weaknesses
- Non-randomized: allocation to treatment and control likely not random, leading to potential selection bias.
- Blinding unknown: placebo was used but it is unclear if caregivers or assessors were blinded, risking performance and detection bias.
- Small sample size (especially control group n=5) reduces statistical power and precision.
Methodology
Evidence Keywords
Statistical Reporting
Scoring
How strong is this study?
This study is like a science project with only 15 dogs, and we don't know if the people telling us about the dogs' pain knew which group they were in. With so few dogs and possible hidden biases, the results are not very reliable. It's like trying to guess the best flavor of ice cream by tasting only one tiny spoonful—you can't be sure.
0 / 100
- COI disclosureconflicts of interest not disclosed
- Data availabilitydata not shared
- Code availabilitycode not shared
33 / 100
- Randomizationrandomization unclear
- Blindingblinding unclear
- Control group+15/15
- Sample size (n=15)+1.4/20
- Follow-up+10/10
100 / 100
0 / 100
- P-valuesno p-values reported
- Effect sizeno effect size reported
- Confidence intervalsno confidence intervals
- Pre-registrationnot pre-registered
Each component is scored out of 100 and then capped by the study design — a case series cannot reach the ceiling a randomised trial can, however well it is reported.
Where it sits
RCT reviewsReviews of RCTs (Meta-analyses)
Max 100Randomized TrialsRandomized Trials
Max 90Reviews of Cohort StudiesReviews of Cohort Studies
Max 85Cohort StudiesCohort Studies
Max 72Reviews of Case-Control StudiesReviews of Case-Control Studies
Max 63Case-Control StudiesCase-Control Studies
Max 58Cross-Sectional & Case SeriesCross-Sectional & Case Series
Max 50Expert OpinionExpert Opinion
Max 59 / 100
Probability of being correct
Groups of people are followed over time to see who develops an outcome. Strong for identifying risk factors and associations, but cannot prove causation as firmly as RCTs.
This design cannot establish causation — the findings describe an association, not a cause. This is a non-randomized cohort study. Without randomization, there is high risk of confounding and selection bias, making it impossible to establish a causal relationship between the treatments and outcomes. Any observed differences could be due to baseline differences or other factors. Additionally, lack of blinding (or unknown blinding) could introduce bias in outcome measurement.
No Conflicts
No conflicts of interest identified
No conflicts of interest or funding disclosures appear in the provided text. The study appears to be independently conducted.
The provided text is an excerpt; the full article may contain a conflict of interest or funding statement. The study compares a commercial joint supplement to carprofen, but the manufacturer is not identified.