Study analysis · The American journal of clinical nutrition · 2005

30g of resistant starch a day improved insulin sensitivity by 33%—but that's a relative number from just 10 people over 4 weeks, and the full paper isn't available.

In a tiny 4-week study, healthy adults who took 30 grams of resistant starch daily had better lab measures of how well insulin works, but we don't know if that translates to real health benefits.

Reading level
Very low certainty
Level 1b · Individual RCTAssociation, not causationNo causal claims

Overview

What the study found

The study in plain English — the bottom line, every takeaway we extracted, and what to do with them.

In simple terms

This study tested whether eating resistant starch changes how well the body uses insulin. It was a small experiment with 10 healthy people, but because we don't know if people were randomly assigned to treatments, we can only say it might be linked to better insulin sensitivity, not that it definitely causes it.

What’s the bottom line?

In a small 4-week study, healthy adults took 30 grams of resistant starch daily or a placebo. Resistant starch seemed to improve how well insulin helped clear sugar.

How strong is this study?

The study used good tests to measure insulin sensitivity, but it only included 10 people for 4 weeks, and we don't have all the details about how it was run. That means the results are interesting but not strong enough to trust completely.

Reporting

0 / 100

  • COI disclosureconflicts of interest not disclosed
  • Data availabilitydata not shared
  • Code availabilitycode not shared
Methodology

32 / 100

  • Randomizationrandomization unclear
  • Blindingblinding unclear
  • Control group+15/15
  • Sample size (n=10)+1.0/20
  • Follow-up+10/10
Publication

100 / 100

Statistical

23 / 100

  • P-values+15/15
  • Effect sizeno effect size reported
  • Confidence intervalsno confidence intervals
  • Pre-registrationnot pre-registered

Each component is scored out of 100 and then capped by the study design — a case series cannot reach the ceiling a randomised trial can, however well it is reported.

Where it sits

RCT reviews

Max 100

Randomized Trials

Max 90

Reviews of Cohort Studies

Max 85

Cohort Studies

Max 72

Reviews of Case-Control Studies

Max 63

Case-Control Studies

Max 58

Cross-Sectional & Case Series

Max 50

Expert Opinion

Max 5
StrongerWeaker
Randomized Trials
Level 1b
37

37 / 100

Probability of being correct

Participants are randomly assigned to treatment or control groups, minimizing bias. The gold standard for testing whether an intervention causes an effect.

This design cannot establish causation — the findings describe an association, not a cause. Randomization and blinding are not explicitly stated in the abstract. The study is small (n=10), short (4 weeks), and abstract-only, so confounding cannot be ruled out. Therefore, cause-effect relationships cannot be established.

COI Unknown

Could not determine conflict of interest status

Not Disclosed

No conflicts of interest or funding statement was present in the provided text, so potential conflicts cannot be assessed.

Undisclosed — Suspicious

The provided text is an abstract without a COI or funding declaration; no author affiliations or disclosures are included.

Key takeaways

  1. 01

    Clamp insulin sensitivity was higher with resistant starch: 9.7 vs 8.5 (absolute difference 1.2 x 10^-2 units; P=0.03).

  2. 02

    Meal-test insulin sensitivity was 33% higher relative (P=0.05).

  3. 03

    Insulin-adjusted glucose clearance was 44% higher relative (P=0.03).

  4. 04

    Fasting ghrelin was higher (2769 vs 2062 pg/mL; P=0.03).

  5. 05

    This was a 4-week study in only 10 healthy people, so the results are preliminary.

  6. 06

    The absolute difference in clamp insulin sensitivity was 1.2 x 10^-2 units, but the study did not report how this changes a person's absolute risk of diabetes or other outcomes.

  7. 07

    The 33% and 44% figures are relative differences, not absolute risk reductions.

  8. 08

    The clinical importance is unclear from the abstract.

Practical takeaways

No dietary change can be confidently recommended from this abstract alone. If you're considering resistant starch supplements for metabolic health, discuss it with a clinician—especially if you take diabetes medication.

Based on a 4-week study in only 10 healthy adults; randomization and blinding are not specified in the abstract; full methodology and absolute clinical benefit are not available.

low confidence

When you see a nutrition headline with a percentage, ask: relative or absolute? This study's 33% and 44% are relative differences in lab measures, not absolute risk reductions.

The abstract does not report absolute risk changes or clinical outcomes like diabetes diagnosis.

low confidence

Why this study matters

Tiny trial, big caveats: n=10 for 4 weeks

The study gave 10 healthy subjects either 30 g/day resistant starch or placebo for 4 weeks. Clamp-derived insulin sensitivity was higher with resistant starch: 9.7 vs 8.5 x 10^-2 mg glucose/kg/min per mU insulin/L, an absolute difference of 1.2 x 10^-2 units (P=0.03). Randomization and blinding are not specified in the abstract, and full methodology is unavailable.

A sample of 10 is extremely small, so one or two unusual responses could drive the result. It's a reminder that promising nutrition headlines often come from early, fragile studies.

Relative vs absolute: 33% and 44% are not risk reductions

During a meal tolerance test, insulin sensitivity was 33% higher relative with resistant starch (P=0.05), and insulin-adjusted forearm muscle glucose clearance was 44% higher relative (P=0.03). These are relative differences in laboratory measures, not absolute reductions in diabetes risk. The abstract does not report absolute clinical risk reduction.

Headlines often say '33% better' without clarifying it's relative. The absolute benefit could be tiny or unknown, especially in healthy people over only 4 weeks.

Muscle pulls more glucose with less insulin

Forearm muscle glucose clearance during the meal test was higher after resistant starch (P=0.03) even though insulin concentrations were lower (P=0.02). After adjusting for insulin, glucose clearance was 44% higher relative.

It suggests the muscle became more sensitive to insulin's signal—more sugar cleared with less insulin. That's the kind of mechanism people care about for metabolic health.

Fat tissue release changes, but blood NEFA doesn't

Subcutaneous abdominal adipose tissue NEFA release was lower (P=0.02) and glycerol release was lower (P=0.05) with resistant starch, yet systemic NEFA concentrations were not significantly altered. This suggests a tissue-specific effect that may not show up in a standard blood test.

It hints that resistant starch may change how fat tissue behaves locally, even if whole-body blood markers look unchanged. That's a nuance most headlines miss.

Gut metabolites up, hunger hormone also up

Short-chain fatty acids were higher during the meal test (acetate P=0.05; propionate P=0.01), and adipose acetate uptake was higher (P=0.03). But fasting ghrelin was also higher with resistant starch (2769 vs 2062 pg/mL; P=0.03), while postprandial ghrelin suppression (40–44%) did not differ significantly.

Resistant starch feeds gut bacteria and raises beneficial short-chain fatty acids, but the higher fasting ghrelin—a hunger hormone—is counterintuitive and could raise questions about appetite effects.

Want the whole report?

Detailed mode opens the full scientific breakdown — every score component, the methodology, conflicts of interest, the evidence analysis behind each claim, and the raw study data.

Standing

Who’s using this study?

The videos and claims on this site that lean on this study, and the researchers who wrote it.

1 video from Physionic cite this study, drawing 0 claims from it.

Physionic

No specific claims extracted from this video yet.

All 1 video linked this study in their descriptions.

Authored by

5 researchers

If this is your work, this is how we attribute it on Fit Body Science. M. Denise Robertson is listed as the lead author.