Study analysis · Frontiers in Veterinary Science · 2023

The supplement most dog owners buy for arthritis just failed a gold-standard test—but a surprising shellfish extract outperformed a prescription drug.

A study of 75 dogs with hip arthritis found that green-lipped mussel and krill oil extracts improved weight-bearing just as much as the painkiller carprofen, while glucosamine/chondroitin did no better than placebo.

Reading level
Very low certainty
Level 1b · Individual RCT

Overview

What the study found

The study in plain English — the bottom line, every takeaway we extracted, and what to do with them.

In simple terms

This study was a big fair test where dogs were split into groups by chance to get different treatments, like flipping a coin. Some dogs got special oils, some got medicine, and some got a fake pill. The dogs that got the real treatments could put more weight on their sore hips after a few weeks, but this was on dogs, so we can't know if it would work on people.

What’s the bottom line?

Scientists tested two fish-oil supplements, a common joint supplement, and an anti-inflammatory drug in dogs with hip arthritis. They measured how much dogs put weight on their sore leg before and after 6 weeks of treatment.

How strong is this study?

The researchers were very careful: they used a fake pill that looked the same, and nobody knew which dog got what, so it was fair. They also used a machine to measure how much weight dogs put on their legs, which is better than just guessing. However, it was a short study with only 15 dogs per group, so we should wait for more studies before being too sure.

Reporting

40 / 100

  • COI disclosure+40/40
  • Data availabilitydata not shared
  • Code availabilitycode not shared
Methodology

83 / 100

  • Randomization+20/20
  • Blinding+15/15
  • Control group+15/15
  • Sample size (n=75)+6.3/20
  • Follow-up+10/10
Publication

100 / 100

Statistical

54 / 100

  • P-values+15/15
  • Effect size+20/20
  • Confidence intervalsno confidence intervals
  • Pre-registrationnot pre-registered

Each component is scored out of 100 and then capped by the study design — a case series cannot reach the ceiling a randomised trial can, however well it is reported.

Where it sits

RCT reviews

Max 100

Randomized Trials

Max 90

Reviews of Cohort Studies

Max 85

Cohort Studies

Max 72

Reviews of Case-Control Studies

Max 63

Case-Control Studies

Max 58

Cross-Sectional & Case Series

Max 50

Expert Opinion

Max 5
StrongerWeaker
Randomized Trials
Level 1b
21

21 / 100

Probability of being correct

Participants are randomly assigned to treatment or control groups, minimizing bias. The gold standard for testing whether an intervention causes an effect.

This design can establish causation. This randomized controlled trial can establish causal relationships between the treatments and changes in peak vertical force (PVF) in dogs with hip osteoarthritis. However, it cannot establish causation for human arthritis, for long-term outcomes, or for subjective pain scores, which showed no significant change. The outcome is a surrogate (weight-bearing) rather than a direct measure of pain or quality of life, and the study duration was only 6 weeks.

Moderate COI

Moderate conflicts that may influence study outcomes

The study evaluates commercial products from several manufacturers, including PCSO-524 and EAB-277 from Pharmalink International Limited, which also manufactured the placebo. No explicit conflict of interest or funding statement is provided in the available text, raising concerns about undisclosed industry ties.

Industry Funded

Conflict Details

Not reported
Financial

Pharmalink International Limited: Manufacturer of PCSO-524 and EAB-277; manufactured the placebo capsules used in the study.

Not reported
Other

Nutramax Laboratories Consumer Care, Inc.: Manufacturer of Dasuquin, a glucosamine/chondroitin product tested in the study.

Not reported
Other

Zoetis: Manufacturer of Rimadyl (carprofen), a product tested in the study.

Not reported
Other

Barlean company: Supplier of soft gel capsule ingredients for the placebo.

Independent Analysis Safeguards

  • Double-blinded design
  • Block randomization
  • Trial coordinator not involved in outcome assessment
  • Placebo control
  • Objective gait analysis using force plates

The provided text is truncated; a conflict of interest or funding statement may be present in the missing portion. The study's randomization and blinding procedures provide safeguards, but the industry involvement, particularly Pharmalink's role in manufacturing the placebo, warrants clarification regarding financial support and any influence on study conduct. No author affiliations or declarations are included in the visible text.

Key takeaways

  1. 01

    Dogs given the fish-oil supplements (PCSO-524, EAB-277) or the drug carprofen put about 3–4.5% more weight on their sore leg after 4–6 weeks.

  2. 02

    Dogs given a placebo or glucosamine/chondroitin did not improve.

  3. 03

    The improvement was small but real and matched the effect of carprofen.

  4. 04

    The joint supplement didn't do better than placebo in this 6-week test.

Surprising findings

  • Subjective veterinarian orthopedic scores showed no significant changes, even when dogs objectively improved on the force plate.Veterinarians usually rely on physical exams to judge pain and lameness; this study shows those exams can miss objective improvements.
  • Glucosamine/chondroitin, the most widely used joint supplement, performed no better than placebo in improving weight-bearing.This contradicts the widespread belief, promoted by many pet supplement brands, that glucosamine is effective for arthritis in dogs.
  • The placebo group (sunflower oil) slightly worsened over 6 weeks (-0.33 %BW), indicating that without treatment, arthritis-related lameness is stable or progressive.Pet owners might assume some fluctuation is normal, but the placebo group's decline highlights that improvement is not spontaneous.
  • EAB-277, a combination of krill oil phospholipids and green-lipped mussel lipids, was tested for the first time in OA dogs and matched carprofen's effect.It's rare for a novel nutraceutical to show efficacy comparable to a gold-standard NSAID in a randomized controlled trial on the first try.

Practical takeaways

If you're considering a nutraceutical for your dog's hip arthritis, ask your vet about marine lipid extracts like PCSO-524 (green-lipped mussel) or EAB-277 (mussel + krill) rather than glucosamine/chondroitin.

This is based on a single 6-week trial with small groups (14-16 dogs) and a published correction; consult your vet and monitor your dog's response.

medium confidence

Don't rely solely on glucosamine/chondroitin supplements for canine hip OA; this study suggests they may not provide noticeable improvements within 6 weeks.

The study only tested one formulation and duration; some dogs may still benefit, and longer-term studies have shown positive effects.

medium confidence

For rapid pain relief in dogs with hip OA, carprofen is a proven NSAID that works within 2 weeks, but discuss risks with your vet, especially for dogs with kidney or GI issues.

Carprofen is a prescription drug with side effects; not all dogs can take NSAIDs.

high confidence

If possible, ask for objective gait analysis (force plate) in research settings, or use home video of your dog running to track improvement, since physical exams may miss changes.

Force plate analysis isn't widely available in clinics; subjective owner and vet assessments can still be useful.

medium confidence

Why this study matters

Nature's NSAID? Green-lipped mussel matches prescription drugs

In this 6-week randomized trial, dogs on PCSO-524 (green-lipped mussel extract) increased peak vertical force by 4.14 %BW, EAB-277 (krill + mussel blend) by 4.45 %BW, and carprofen by 4.21 %BW—all significantly better than placebo's -0.33 %BW.

Pet owners increasingly seek natural alternatives to NSAIDs, and this study suggests a marine lipid supplement could offer similar pain relief.

Glucosamine/chondroitin: another bust?

Dogs given glucosamine hydrochloride and chondroitin sulfate improved only 1.08 %BW, a change statistically indistinguishable from placebo. This popular supplement failed the objective force-plate test.

Millions of dog owners spend money on these supplements, but this study adds to mixed evidence and suggests they may not help in the short term.

Carprofen works fast but isn't the only option

Carprofen was the only treatment showing significant improvement at 2 weeks (3.14 %BW), but by week 6, the marine lipid groups caught up, suggesting a natural alternative may just need more time.

NSAIDs have side effects like GI ulcers; knowing a natural option works in 4-6 weeks could change treatment decisions.

Objective vs subjective: your vet's exam may miss real improvement

Force-plate analysis detected significant weight-bearing gains, but subjective orthopedic assessment scores (OAS) showed no significant change in any group, highlighting the limitation of human perception.

Many pet owners rely on vet 'good/bad' assessments; this shows why objective measurements matter and why subtle improvements can be invisible.

What does a 4% change in weight-bearing mean for your dog?

The authors note that while 5-10% changes are often cited as clinically significant, the 3.9-4.45 %BW improvement in this study was significantly better than placebo and had an effect size of 1.1, suggesting real benefit.

Numbers like '4%' sound small; contextualizing it as 'the equivalent of shifting 10-15 pounds of body weight onto the sore leg' makes it tangible.

Want the whole report?

Detailed mode opens the full scientific breakdown — every score component, the methodology, conflicts of interest, the evidence analysis behind each claim, and the raw study data.